Saturday, September 13, 2008

Details leak out

from the Zimbabwe Times


In terms of the agreement Robert Mugabe, president of Zanu-PF will retain his position as President of Zimbabwe with two vice-presidents, also from Zanu PF and presumably the current incumbents, Joseph Msika and Joyce Mujuru. As the head of state and government, Mugabe will chair a Cabinet comprising 31 ministers.

The MDC leader, Morgan Tsvangirai, will be appointed to the new position of Prime Minister. He will have two deputies, one from his own party and the other from the breakaway faction of the MDC led by Arthur Mutambara.

When the talks adjourned on Wednesday there was a deadlock over the proposal by Mbeki that four deputy prime ministers be appointed on a rotational basis – two from the mainstream MDC and one each from Zanu-PF and the rival Mutambara-led MDC.

As Prime Minister, Tsvangirai will preside over a new council of ministers, and generally supervise the ministers, while formulating and implementing policies. He will head government business in Parliament and also sit on the National Security Council, the successor to the current controversial Joint Operations Command (JOC).

The JOC was widely regarded as having usurped executive powers from Mugabe in the aftermath of his defeat and the defeat of Zanu-PF in the harmonised elections on March 29. The JOC was instrumental in manipulating a reversal of the presidential election re-run to ensure a “landslide” victory for Mugabe on June 27. But his victory was dismissed as a sham in and out of Zimbabwe after his only rival pulled out at the last minute, citing violence and intimidation of his officials and supports during the campaign....

This article has more at link...

And notice the details reported are different than those in the UK paper...

No comments:

Free hit counters
Free hit counters